‘Wathint’ Abafazi, Wathint’ Imbokodo’

By ^PS –

“You strike a woman, you strike a rock.” Women are the heart and soul in everyday life, Women’s existence is spectacular. Talking about women gives me goose bumps because women in South Africa are rising to the top day by day.

As a woman myself, I am greatly moved by the success stories I am told, see, hear and read about women in businesses, leadership positions and how they still manage being wives, mothers, sisters, grandmothers and career women the same time.

Celebrating women is a big endeavor for me . I feel very privileged to have been part of the celebration on March 8 at Nasrec Expo Centre when the Premier of Gauteng, David Makhura, invited women across the province to come celebrate International Women’s Day under the theme “Be Bold For Change”.

This was a three-day event which afforded women in business the opportunity to exhibit their products for free. From cleaning companies, consultancy, arts and crafts, beds and breakfasts, women are now into mining and leadership positions.

I was very impressed by one woman in particular from Purple Esther. She sells custom-made women personal protective clothing and equipment, including those for pregnant women in the mining industry.

I was also glad to have met three young women from House of Boikgantso and Miss T Fab Bags who are in the arts and crafts industry. These young women design clothes and beads that are out of this atmosphere. Their products are unique and really worth every penny on the price tag.

I loved three pieces from their collection and it is my promise to the ladies that I would visit them and buy these. The occasion was celebratory and the speakers were also motivational and inspired me to be “Bold For Change”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

